Day 30: 2/15: Paestum

I’m starting this day with about 1.5 hours of sleep on my living room carpet, yet this trip is enough to get me up and moving (I had luckily already packed).  Our group of 30+ is heading down to the Southern part of Italy, specifically the state of Campania. Over the next few days, we will take a 4 hour tour bus ride down Paestum, Pompeii, Naples, Sorrento, and then a smaller group of my friends and I will continue to the Coast of Amalfi and the Island of Capri.   Quite the itinerary for four days if I do say so!

In order to start things off right, I take a two hour nap on the bus.  I wake to find the serene Apennine Mountains to the left of the bus.  The Apennine Mountains run up and down the East side of Italy, with the Alps in the North.   I drift back to sleep with orange tree orchards passing by my window and a glimpse of the Mediterranean Sea in the distance.

Paestum has three main ancient temples: The Temple of Hera, Temple of Athena, and Temple of Neptune.

As we arrived in Paestum, the afternoon light bounces between the Doric columns.  There are only vendors on the right side of the street. To the left is a black iron fence, and through a gate you are given free reign to explore the Roman ruins.  The sky was a solid blue with picturesque clouds, complimenting the green grass and white travertine ruins.   Paestum is a great place to reflect and imagine life as it was back before even Jesus walked. The area feels very peaceful.  It was refreshing.  I can still hardly fathom how they constructed the temples with such precision, and that they are still standing.

Paestum

As we arrived in Paestum, the afternoon light bounces in between the Doric columns.  There are only vendors on the right side of the street. To the left is a black iron fence, and through a gate you are given free reign to explore the Roman ruins.  The sky was a solid blue with picturesque clouds, complimenting the green grass and white travertine ruins.   Paestum is a great place to reflect and imagine life as it was back before even Jesus walked. The area feels very peaceful.  It was refreshing.  I can still hardly fathom how they constructed the temples with such precision, and that they are still standing.

As the sun sets, the temples take on an orange glow–perfect for taking pictures.

Our hotel reservations were in Pompeii, so after the sun went down we hopped on the bus and continued the journey through Campania.  (I will post about Pompeii next)

Comments are disabled.

